day three – a picture of something that makes you happy.


This picture makes me extremely happy. I miss these kiddos so much it’s unreal. This picture was taken at the orphanage I volunteered at in Kenya.

The baby I’m holding in the picture is David. He was found by the founders of the orphanage in a slum in Nairobi, Kenya. Sadly, due to high poverty and prostitution, many women leave their babies to die. If it were not for the cries of baby David, he may have never been found. He was found in a plastic bag with rocks in his nostrils. They brought him back to the orphanage and the “mom” of the facility nursed him back to good health. David is one of THE happiest, most precious babies I have ever been around. It was incredible to witness and he is certainly a living miracle. God is good.

The little girl holding my shoulder is Elizabeth. We called her Liza (pronounced lee-zuh). She absolutely stole my heart from the first minute I met her. This bundle of joy made me smile more than I ever have in my life. Her sweet face still flashes in my mind almost every day. I miss her so much.

This picture will always be one of my favorites, because it reminds me of the joy the children in Kenya brought me. It also reminds me to always be grateful of what I have been given and to never take advantage of those things.

Leave a Reply

