day seven – a person you would love to meet.

If someone had asked me this question yesterday, I would have said Peyton Manning: QB for the Indianapolis Colts. What’s my answer today? Peyton Manning: free agent?

When I heard the news that the Indianapolis Colts were parting ways with Peyton Manning, my heart sank inside my chest. I can’t say that I was completely caught off guard, because realistically, we all saw the potential for this to happen. But hearing the words officially spoken was a bit heart-wrenching for me. I think what hurts the most, is knowing that Peyton built this team into what it is today. I remember watching my first Colts game back in middle school and thinking how cool Manning was. It was their 2003 season, when they had guys like Edgerrin James, Reggie Wayne, Marvin Harrison, Brandon Stockley and of course Tony Dungy coaching. Who wouldn’t fall in love with a team consisting of those players?

So, would I still love to meet Peyton Manning? Of course! He is one of the best quarterbacks the NFL has ever seen. He is the reason I fell in love with football. He plays smart, he is clutch, and he gets things done. I will always respect him as a player. I wish him the best wherever he ends up.

The Colts definitely have their work cut out for them. I am, and always will be, a fan, there’s no doubt about that. It’s just going to be a rough couple of seasons ahead, unless Andrew Luck turns out to be as great as everyone thinks. Who knows, maybe he’ll be the next Manning. One can only hope.

But for now….what to do with my Manning jersey?

Leave a Reply

