day eight – a picture of your family.

Gladish/Leachman Wedding

Now that’s a good lookin’ family. Am I right? I love this picture; it is so good of all of us. Starting at the far left is my 2 year-old niece, Abby. Holding her is my older sister, Amy. In her belly is my other niece, Brooklyn (who has arrived since then!). In front of Amy, is my mom. Chris and I are in the middle. Next to Chris is my dad and behind my dad is my brother-in-law, Zach. We’re cute.

My parents are the most supportive, encouraging, and influential people in my life. They raised me in church and taught me how to have a personal and saving relationship with my Lord and Savior. They came to every extra-curricular activity I was involved in (that includes long, boring, and hot swim meets) and never complained. They gave me everything I needed, but not everything I wanted and I’m grateful for that now, even if I wasn’t back then. They set a great example for my sister and I in their loving marriage (of over 30 years). It is such a blessing to be a part of this family and I thank God every chance I get for that. My sister is always so positive and encouraging and she has done so much for me over the years, it’s like I have two moms sometimes. She has supported me financially and emotionally in things I have done and I am so glad I have a sister like her. Of course we fought when we were younger, but who didn’t? It’s called tough love. You always fight with the ones you’re closest to. I wish we were able to see each other more. They live in Virginia due to Zach’s job, but we try to Skype and stay connected as often as possible. My nieces are seriously the cutest kids in the world. I adore them. Abby was born on my 21st birthday (June 24). Brooklyn was born last September. I look forward to when Chris and I have children and the cousins can play together together at family events.

And last, but certainly not least, my husband! Where do I even begin with him? Bottom line, he makes me a better person. When I’m with him, I’m constantly encouraged and challenged to be better than I sometimes want to be. He is the most giving person I have ever met. He is constantly helping others in all kinds of ways. He truly is a light in this dark world and he makes everyone around him happy. He is goofy and a big kid at heart. The Lord is so great in the way he brought Chris and I together. He put him in my life just when I needed him the most. I’m so thankful for him and all he has done for me. I can’t imagine my crazy life without him.

Leave a Reply

