day nine – something you miss.

A year ago in April, my maternal grandma (Lois) passed away. I miss her so much. She was the only grandparent I grew up with. I was very close with her, because she helped raise me. She was very involved in my life and I spent many, many days at her house during the summer. I loved it. She was a HUGE Indiana University Basketball fan. I mean, this woman was serious about this team. She watched every game on TV and always cheered loud for them. She’s the only person I know that can eat popcorn without ever needing to take a drink. She loved me and my sister so much and would have done anything for us. Grandma never pumped her own gas. She always went to the gas stations that would fill the gas up for you.

She was hilarious. She could make me laugh with her silly jokes, her funny looks, and her random comments. I remember being embarrassed when she would pick me up from elementary school in her ’92 oldsmobile cutlass, which I now proudly drive. About 4-5 years ago, my grandma was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. Since she was living alone at the time, it was the best decision to have her move into a nursing home, where she would have 24 hour care and watch. She was in a really nice facility. From the time she was diagnosed until she passed away, we watched her rapidly decline. It was tough. I mean, really, really tough. Grandma always knew when we came to visit that she knew us, but couldn’t always place who we were. It didn’t matter. We knew HER and we loved HER and that’s what mattered. She was always there for us, so we needed to be there for her.

I will always miss her. She taught me so much about my faith and good morals. I am so blessed to have had the privilege of being her granddaughter. Love and miss you everyday, Lolo.

Leave a Reply

