Colon Cancer Awareness 5K

After a brief sabbatical, I decided to return to running once again. I had taken nearly a month off due to heat, laziness, and knee issues after the half-marathon. But yesterday I got the sudden urge to go out and run (I know right? In 102 degree weather, what was I thinking?). I was going to wake up early and go for a short run, but it was already SO hot outside that I said, “have you lost your marbles, jill?” and went back to bed for another hour.

After the sun went down last night, it really didn’t feel bad at all. So I walked over to my neighbor, running friend’s place and asked if she wanted to run. It worked out perfect, because she was already in workout clothing and said she wanted to. It felt pretty good for not having ran at all in the last month.

Image

Next Saturday, July 14th I’m going to run a 5K in my hometown with my Dad. It’s to support Colon Cancer Awareness. He doesn’t have colon cancer (just to clarify), but he has been running/walking a lot lately and has set a goal to finish a 5K this year. I’m incredibly proud of him and encouraged by him.

I registered for the race online (http://www.colonscreeningforlife.com/) and saw that we get these awesome dri-fit shirts when signed up!

i love dri-fits.

I’m looking forward to the race. I think we’ll have fun…as long as it isn’t 107 degrees at 8AM.

One thought on “Colon Cancer Awareness 5K

Leave a Reply

