1 year down, a lifetime to go.

After one year of marriage we are officially pros, right? It feels weird to say we’ve been married a year. It has flown by, most of the time. I’m grateful for all the time we have gotten to spend together and for this life we get to share together (I can get pretty corny, I know…just wait).

Over the past twelve months we have learned so much about one another and even about our own selves. It’s such an adjustment going from being your own, independent-self to living with another person and having to work together with them on practically everything. I have learned more about forgiveness and submission, true love and respect, honor and trust than I ever thought possible. It’s one thing to know these things are important in a marriage, but to put them into practice 24/7 (especially when you don’t feel like putting in that effort) is truly a challenge.

Marriage is hard. I won’t lie and say everything is perfect all the time and that we never have issues, because honestly…it’s not and we do. I will say, though, that because of this, God’s grace is more evident in my life than ever before. And what a wonderful thing to see. Grace is a beautiful thing. It’s a relief to know that we don’t have to be perfect, to know that our main goal isn’t to look like a Hollywood movie, but most importantly bring glory to God through our marriage and to strengthen one another’s relationship with Christ.

One thing I love about our relationship is how much fun we have together. There is not a day that goes by that he doesn’t have me laughing like a little kid. He always has something fun planned and I love being adventurous and spontaneous with him. We’re our own version of a romantic comedy, only we’re probably the only ones who think we’re funny.

He not only makes me laugh, but makes me a better person as well. He’s always encouraging prayer and time in the Word. He is so generous and caring and he would do anything for anyone in a heartbeat. There are times when I just want to be lazy or let people solve their own problems (how lame of me); that’s not my husband. Never. At the drop of a hat, he is there to help. It always challenges me, which is just what I need sometimes. God knew exactly what he was doing when he brought the two of us together.

I’m so thankful I get to call such a wonderful, Godly man my husband. I’m not an expert on marriage and I probably never will be. I just hope to continue to learn as much as I have this past year and be able to look back on every year knowing we did our best to love and serve one another and the Lord.

Flowers sent to me at work. What an awesome surprise!

Happy one year anniversary, babe. I love you more every single day. Thanks for letting me be your wife.

4 thoughts on “1 year down, a lifetime to go.

Leave a Reply

