5k results.

If there was ever a proudest moment in my life, it was on Saturday morning when I ran a 5K. I know what you might be thinking…”Geeze, she’s humble”. But I’m not talking about being proud of myself. I’m talking about my DAD! My dad ran track in high school, but has not run competitively since then. Saturday was his first road race ever and he ran it in 40 minutes and 13 seconds. He finished 3rd in his age division and received a medal after the race. His goal was to finish the race in under 40 minutes and while he barely missed that, him finishing the race and doing as well as he did, is enough of an accomplishment in itself, in my opinion. He was pleased with the results and, of course, his family was as well.

the front had the race logo on it and the back had his place and age division.

He said after the race that he plans to run the entire 5k in December when my whole family does one in Gatlinburg, TN. He has been working so hard for this and I can’t wait to see his future results.

Right before the race (about 8:15am) it poured down rain. My hometown had not had rain for about 6-8 weeks according to my parents so it was a bittersweet moment, because they needed the rain, BUT at about 8:28 it stopped raining and we started the race. It barely sprinkled once around the 2 mile marker and the rest of the time was pretty pleasant…a bit humid, but not bad. After we crossed the finish line, we posed for a picture and a minute later it was a torrential downpour. We had to move under a canopy. Is God good or what for holding off that rain for the EXACT time of the race?!

my dad, an official 5k-er!

I’m just so unbelievably proud of him for setting these goals and for working so hard to achieve them. He is such an inspiration to our entire family and I’m very encouraged by his determination and perseverance. You have one very proud daughter, Dad. Thanks for being my hero. I love you!

2 thoughts on “5k results.

  1. Pingback: medical center 10k classic. |

Leave a Reply

