message chalkboard.

I am so thrilled to have found this baby at a yard sale for $4. What a steal.

I know it might not excite everyone the way it does me, but I love chalkboards! This one kind of has that vintage feel to it too. When I brought it home, I realized the chalkboard was so old that chalk didn’t write on it well. So I took chalkboard spray paint and re-painted it with another coat in hopes of bringing it back to use. After letting the paint dry on the chalkboard, it worked! I was excited, because I honestly thought it might have been a waste of $4. I stand corrected, however.

My dad has a cool hobby that involves finding old, antique things  at yard sales, antique shops, flea markets, etc. and refinishing them. It’s actually really neat to see what he starts with and then seeing the final project. So he restained the frame with a little bit of a darker tent so that it would look nicer. The orginial color looked a little rough. It turned out exactly how I wanted it to. I especially love the little chalk drawer. Baller.

I bought the white vase at Walmart for 97 cents and the flowers were $2. It’s the perfect fit on the ledge and it adds a touch of color and style. I really like how it turned out.

I have some other fun, thrifty projects I’ve done this summer. And some that I’m currently working on. I’ll post more when I get a chance. The craziness of wedding season is almost over.

Leave a Reply

