medical center 10k classic.

I realized the other day that I am very unhappy with the amount of motivation I have to excercise. I ran the KY Derby Mini Marathon this past April (you can read about it here), so I was highly motivated to run almost every day leading up to the race. Who wants to show up on race day and not be able to finish it? Not I.

I told myself I’d be an idiot to run another mini marathon, after practically dying at the finish line, so I got the brilliant idea to do half of a half marathon, also known as a 10k. I’ve never done one before, so I am excited to take part in it. For all you non-runners out there, a 10k is 6.2 miles. You’re welcome.

Every year Bowling Green hosts the Medical Center 10k Classic in the fall. I signed up for it with just a little over two months to get my booty in gear train.

I have run a little bit since the mini and I even ran a 5k with my dad in June. But I really wouldn’t say I’ve been consistent in running. Now that I am signed up for a race, I know I can’t say, “Eh, I don’t think I’ll run today, maybe tomorrow or next week”. I have set a goal time of one hour for myself. That would put me at just barely under a ten minute mile. For me, that is definitely do-able. And after missing my goal time by four lousy minutes at the mini, I am really determined to do it this time.

With all of that being said, here is the training guide that I will (do my best to) follow for the next couple of months:

If you would like to join me for the race, you can visit this website to register. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

