oh, just makin’ dreams come true.

Twenty-six years ago today an adorable baby entered this world. Come on, I’m not that conceited. I’m talking about my husband here. I love birthdays. There’s something about them that just excites me (even if it’s not mine). I love giving gifts. My gift to him this year was tickets to a Notre Dame football game. He has been a huge fan since he was a kid. He has always said one of his ‘bucket list’ items is to attend a ND football game in South Bend, IN at the ND stadium. That, folks, will be taking place on November 3rd. Notre Dame is playing University of Pittsburgh. I am so excited to have the opportunity to do this with him.

I bought the tickets a couple of weeks ago on stubhub. It must have been through a season ticket holder, who wasn’t going to be able to make that game, because he didn’t have the actual tickets yet (they get them once the season starts). They will be mailed to us sometime before the end of October. Since I didn’t have the actual tickets to give him on his birthday, I made some on Microsoft Word. I put them in his birthday card. I really don’t think you can tell they are fake unless you knew or look really, really hard. Not trying to toot my own horn or anything. But really.

i should make this my career.

I also made him a cake that I (attempted to) make look like a football field. Keep in mind, I’m not a professional cake baker/decorator so cut me some slack when judging the cake.

For the cake, all I did was buy a box of cake-mix (milk chocolate) and added 3 eggs, 1 1/4 C of water and 1/3 C. vegetable oil. This made it extra…damp? (I despise the ‘m’ word – I can’t even type it) I mixed up the batter, lined a 13×9 pan with wax paper (as to easily transfer it from the pan to the cake carrier) and poured in the mix. Baked at 350 for 25 minutes (may vary from oven to oven). Poked a toothpick in and it was perfect! Then I took vanilla icing and green food-coloring and mixed them together for the grass field look. I then used white ‘writing’ icing that I had left over from a previous dessert (it doesn’t expire…kind of makes you wonder what’s in it) and made the lines on the field out of that. It was super easy (especially when you don’t make anything from scratch! haha). And that’s about as creative as I get.

We went to church tonight and then afterwards, went out to eat with some friends to celebrate. We enjoyed mexican food and football field cake. My favorite.

birthday boy.

Needless to say, he loved the gifts! He is really excited to go to the game. I just wish we didn’t have to wait 2 1/2 months now. Now starts the planning for an adventurous weekend in Northern Indiana. Maybe we’ll even make it to Chicago since he has never been there. We’ll see.

One thought on “oh, just makin’ dreams come true.

  1. Pingback: A weekend with the Irish. | Life as a Leachman

Leave a Reply

