fall fun friday: hurricane jar centerpiece.

Sooner or later, you’ll figure out that my favorite season is FALL…if you haven’t already. I’m the girl who asks in August if it’s ok to put out the fall decorations or light the fall-scented candles. I mean, who can resist the Yankee Candles “Autumn Wreath” or “Apple Cider”? Those are classic smells that I wish I could smell all year-long.

In preparation of the upcoming [best] season [ever], I thought I’d begin a 3-part series called “fall fun friday”. Fall doesn’t officially start until Sept. 22 so that gives me three Fridays to share my three fall projects I’ve completed.

Today is my simple, inexpensive dinner table centerpiece. In our small apartment, it’s one of the first things you see when you walk in and I love it. It contains every fall color and the candle is even “pumpkin spice” scent. Who wouldn’t love it?

that’s as good as my bow tying gets.

Materials Needed:

  • 1 bag dried green split peas ($1.50)
  • 1 bag dried light red kidney beans ($1.20)
  • 1 bag dried navy beans ($1.20)
  • 1 bundle of yellow string ($1)
  • 1 tall and thick orange candle ($3)
  • 1 hurricane jar (FREE – from my awesome mom. Seen them cheap at DG)

Directions:

  • Place the tall orange candle in the middle of the jar
  • Pour the green split peas around the candle to desired height
  • Continue with both the kidney beans and navy beans
  • Tie string around the outside of jar and make into a bow

That’s it. It took me FIVE minutes to make this project and cost practically nothing. I spent a total of $8 and if you can find cheaper beans or already have some, then you’re set!

PS: the two white candles on the sides of the jar are from the table we ate at the night my husband proposed to me. AWWWW. 🙂

isn’t he such a romantic?

Happy fall y’all!

Leave a Reply

