dear tomorrow, annie may love you, but I don’t.

Tomorrow is the 33rd annual Medical Center 10k Classic and I’m 100% dreading it. Yep, dreading it. I actually can’t even believe I’m still going to run it, because of course those good ‘ol sinus infections like to sneak up on you like a bandit on the west side of town at night in a dark alley. It never fails to come at the worst time, too, with the goal of leaving you feeling exhausted and completely worthless. Well, sinuses, you succeeded. I feel awful.

Not only has my nose been running like the mighty waters of Niagara Falls, but my head feels like a hot air balloon on steroids. Not to mention my training (or lack thereof) has been lame. I have felt so weak this week (did you see what I did there?) that I haven’t gone for a run at all. Six days without running..that’s insane when you realize you’re running 6.2 miles in 18 hours. So, unlike little orphan Annie, I don’t love ya, tomorrow. Maybe another day.

However! All of this weakness talk has got me thinking about Jesus. Wait, that sounds bad. What I mean is, it got me thinking of the passage in 2 Corinthians, chapter 12. Paul is writing to the Corinthians about his past and recent struggles. He says he will only boast about his weaknesses, because Christ’s power is made perfect in weakness. Now I know I’m not in the same situation as Paul, and running 6.2 miles is nowhere near imprisonment, persecution or torture, but it is a situation where I will need Christ’s strength to get me through…“for when I am weak, then I am strong”. This is my opportunity to give ALL of the glory to the one who truly deserves it.

“For I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.”

-Philipians 4:13

Check back for the outcome of tomorrow’s events. If I survive….kidding. Kind of.

2 thoughts on “dear tomorrow, annie may love you, but I don’t.

Leave a Reply

