Quality Time…’ain’t nobody got time for that’

I got a little crazy last night. I know, I know this is completely out of character for me, but I just couldn’t resist. I took the ‘5 Love Languages’ assessment to find out my primary love language. Turns out I’m a fan of ‘quality time’. It’s funny to me that this is even a love language. How could your love language not be quality time? Doesn’t everyone love quality time with their spouse? I would think if you never spent quality time together, you wouldn’t know the person you are with very well. That doesn’t sound like a healthy relationship to me.

I feel like back in the day, people just enjoyed the company of their spouses. They didn’t have trashy reality shows and iPhone’s to distract them from one another. They spent real, quality time together. They ate meals together without the television on or their cell phones glued to their ears. What has our world become? We have let technology rule our lives. We’ve let it get in the way of those people right in front of our faces.

Plus we’re just busy. Always running, never stopping to appreciate each other. We always have somewhere to be or someone to see. It’s exhausting.

I get it. I’m guilty of it too. I don’t always give my husband my full, undivided attention when he’s talking to me. I sometimes hush him if he’s talking during ‘Revenge’ (don’t mess with me when that show is on!). I sometimes text a friend during dinner when it could have waited until after we ate. I overbook us with too many things in one weekend. I know I have room to improve.

But we need quality time together. We have to make the time to be alone with one another.

But here’s my question to you: can you go an entire evening without any distractions from your spouse?

If your answer is ‘no’, then I challenge you to give it a try. Because quite honestly, the more you show that person he or she comes second to Honey Boo Boo and your precious Blackberry, the more you push him or her away. Eventually they won’t want to spend that quality time with you anymore either and then what will happen to your relationship?

If your answer is ‘yes’, good for you! I challenge you to continue to set aside a night each week where you turn off the tv and your phones and the computer and just be together.

Trust me, it’ll be worth missing an episode of one guy date twenty women at the same time. Anything would be worth missing that. Sorry, Sean.

I will leave you with this video for your enjoyment. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

