simple and cheap furniture update.

Have you ever been on Pinterest and noticed those amazing dresser transformations people have done? They’ve taken a complete mess and turned it into perfection by sanding it, priming it, painting it, and redoing the handles and knobs. It turns into a completely different piece of furniture. Well, I’m here to tell you that those things are not always necessary when trying to update a bedroom suite, especially if you are not a professional furniture updater…like myself.

When I first got married, my parents let us have the furniture from my old room growing up. The set included a big dresser, small dresser, and a side table. They are a dark wood stain (in very good condition), with gold handles. Yes, you read right…GOLD! Now, don’t get me wrong, I very much appreciate my parents giving them to us, but after looking at those things my entire life I needed a change FAST.

I knew I didn’t want to re-stain or paint the furniture, because I am in love with the color as it is. I just  wanted to give it a more updated look. So, the other day I set out to Lowe’s and Home Depot in search of the perfect new handles. As I was browsing, I realized that NONE of them were going to fit the 2 1/2 inch gap between the two screw holes. After getting over my frustration with the dresser manufacturers’ brilliant idea to use a measurement NO ONE else uses, I moved on to the spray paint section.

I found a silver that I liked and it included the primer + paint in one….I was sold. Less work for me. I took off all of the handles when I got home, took them outside and painted each one…all 18 of them. Shew!

When I was finished? No more gold and better looking set of dressers for just SIX DOLLARS. That is my favorite part. I also went over a few scratches with Old English Scratch Cover for Dark Woods. I am very pleased with how they look now!

dresser before&after

Handle Update Collage

I hope this encourages you, even a little bit, that it doesn’t always take a complete makeover to make older furniture look new again. Good luck!

2 thoughts on “simple and cheap furniture update.

  1. Is this a bassett, by any chance? I have the exact same dresser in white. LOL I’m planning to repaint it white (it’s very dinged up) and spray paint the pulls pink.

Leave a Reply

