nightstand makeover.

When my husband’s grandmother passed away almost a year ago, his dad gave us a small table from her home. It’s an antique and very fragile. You can’t put a lot of weight on it and it isn’t in the best of shape. That all doesn’t really matter though, because it’s special to us. It means something to us and it’s been apart of his family for a long time.

DSC_0762

I didn’t have a nightstand at the time, so I put it on my side of the bed to hold my book and phone. Over this past year, it had gotten even worse. The top was chipping off more, it was almost two different shades of brown, and the legs were extremely shaky. I tightened the legs and added some glue to the base to make it sturdier, but I knew it still needed a little bit of a makeover.

I bought some white spray paint and had some ‘jade’ colored spray paint left over from a previous project, so I was set. I sanded the entire table down using a piece of 220 grit sand paper. I had an electric sander, but was afraid it’d be too rough on the old table, so I did it by hand.

After I was done sanding, I wiped it down with a damp cloth and let it dry for a few minutes. Then, I began to spray paint just the top of the table white. I did several coats and let it dry. Next, I painted the base ‘jade’. I did three coats before I decided it looked even all around. I let it dry for about an hour. Finally, I did one last coat of each color. I let it dry again, but this time for several hours to be safe, and as to not stink up our apartment with the smell of paint. We all know how awesome that is.

DSC_0800

It’s not much, but I love it! I’m very excited I was able to keep this sweet little table from my grandmother-in-law, but add a touch of modernism to it. It’s perfect!

side-by-side comparison

side-by-side comparison

One thought on “nightstand makeover.

Leave a Reply

